Article: How to Raise an Opinionated Girl

I am a mother to four girls ages 17, 15, 14 and 8. I can tell you right now that I did nothing to make 3 out of 4 of them opinionated (all in different ways, mind you!)

At age three, I really didn't let any of my children make huge decisions. I gave them choices, do you want to wear this outfit or that one? Do you want an apple or a banana...kind of thing.

In this article the mother is talking about raising an opinionated girl, a girl who knows what she wants. However, her daughter is just three. I totally agree that her daughter obviously knew what she wanted in a hair cut by the way the story is told. I just never thought about giving MY three year old such a big decision to make, nor did I wonder about how to raise an opinionated girl. BUT I have thought long and hard about how to raise independent thinkers and children who will stand up for what they believe regardless of the response, so I am not sure if that equates to being opinionated or not? What do you think?

Do you let your young children make big decisions, like hair cut style? Do you actively think and plan how to raise an opinionated girl/child?

http://www.mothering.com/articles/raise-opinionat…

06
8Theresa GouldChicago, Illinois
07/01/14
8Theresa Gould
Sounds like my oldest! I would say it's a firstborn trait but I'm a firstborn and I'm pretty diplomatic about voicing my opinion.
1
    07/01/14
    Comment deleted
    07/02/14
    8Theresa Gould
    I agree.
    0
      07/02/14
      Comment deleted
      07/02/14
      8Theresa Gould
      I've actually let certain clothing decisions go and they grow out of the mismatched stage. It depended on where we were going and the event though! :)
      0
        07/02/14
        Melissa Middleton
        My step-daughter is very opinionated and with a sassy attitude to match. *Sigh* However, even when we give her choices, she still isn't satisfied. It is her way or no way, which never happens so it's an endless battle. What happened to my sweet, little cuddle bug?
        1
          07/02/14
          Comment deleted
          07/02/14
          8Theresa Gould
          Definitely. The older children do have more choices than the younger ones. But my three year old? Hmmm.....not so much.
          0
            07/02/14
            Comment deleted
            07/02/14
            8Theresa Gould
            My second daughter was like that for the longest time. Then last year her hair got caught in that fly tape that you can put up in the barn to catch flies and we had to get her hair chopped off because the sticky goo made a mess close to the nape of her neck. :(
            1
            About Theresa Gould
            Current: Chicago, Illinois
            Birth: August 10
            On Moms.com since: Aug 5, 2013
            ***Baby Team Leader Moms.com*** I have been married for over 20 years. My husband and I have eight children ages 18 down to 4 years old. We use to live in Chicago but now live in Canada. I own www.FaithandFamilyReviews.com.