If I Could...

If I could I would sleep in until Avery wakes up. We would get dressed and ready together. We would eat the same food for breakfast and head out right away to complete our daily chores with the other moms in out neighborhood. We'd go to the market together, prepare meals and eat together, clean eachother's homes, and do laundry as a group. Our children would play with each other. They'd learn how to talk, walk, run, and be social organically. No need for flash cards or educational TV. I wouldn't beat myself up over how much or how little time I spent teaching Avery things because she'd be learning all the time on her own.
If I coulld I'd just let her wake up and sleep whenever she felt like it. Whether we we're out and about or at home wouldn't matter. She could sleep in a stroller/carrier, in her crib, or on the floor. If she stayed up late she could just sleep in late the next morning. I'd just eat whenever we were hungry and not worry about when we should be eating. I'd play when she wanted to play with me and clean/cook when she was playing with others.

So why can't I? Why can't I go with the flow and meet our needs as needed? Why do I live on a schedule?

Because MOM isn't my only job. I wish it was, but it isn't. I have deadlines to meet and work to do that can be casually stopped and started whenever I feel like it. I don't have a village of other moms and children for her to learn from and play with when I'm busy. I don't have unlimited food that I can dish out whenever we're hungry. I need to spread our food out to make sure we have enough. I need to make dinner at a certain time and wake up at a certain time. I need to get Avery to sleep on time so she will wake up on time so we can get to our activities and meetings.

I need to follow a schedule, but if I could I wouldn't.

    8Theresa Gould
    I feel for you. It's hard but it is what it is, isn't it? I think children thrive knowing what to expect when, I really do.
    About Taylor
    Current: Chanhassen, Minnesota
    Birth: July 26
    On Moms.com since: Dec 18, 2013
    I'm the proud mama of my daughter Avery, born on June 6, 2013. I'm 26 years old, I work from home as a graphic designer, I will be testing for my 5th degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do in 2015. My husband, Derek, and I have been happily married for 3 years.